2 For 1 Crafting!

1020

Taking a break from my crochet projects, I began to think about upcoming events that I need to prepare for and what I will need to get for them. Thinking about this brought up, well, Easter. In the next few weeks Easter will be upon us and I just don’t want to go out and buy cards and other little things. So instead I raided my cupboards first. Noticing my massive stack of card stock for scrap booking, I figured that I would make my own this year. It makes it more personal, as do all crafting gifts, plus it gives my fingers a rest from all the crocheting I have been doing.

So naturally I hit up Pinterest for some inspiration for my Easter cards, and in doing so I discovered this wonderful technique called paper quilling!  There was only one picture of it and for the life of me I cannot find it again but it got me thinking. Got the gears moving away from yarn and into paper. So I researched the technique and it really is quite easy, but there is a catch. You need a quilling tool. So, again, taking a look at this tool that is needed I thought to myself hmm well I can make that!

So now I bring to you the results of my day along with the wonderful site that helped me learn this very easy and cheap crafting technique that can be used for many of things. From cards to pictures, from words to wall art!

1021

Here is the quilling tool that I made. Using once again the wine corks!

I am sure that I will find many of uses for the remainder of the corks that I have left. But for this project, I simply took the one cork that looked most like a good handle.

I pulled out my sewing box and found that stash of needles, took the one with the largest eye and headed for the garage. Pulling out the wire cutters I cut off the tip of the eye so it is left open, stuck the needle in the cork and VOILA! Instant paper quilling tool! Yippee! Now off to quilling I go!

1022

Now, there are many different ways to go about this. There are many different shapes that can come of this and I am sure the next tutorial will be on the different shapes, but at the moment I simply do not have the time to sit and take pictures of all the different techniques but I am sure you will love it too.

Simply put, you take an 8.5″ X 11″ colored piece of paper, cut into 1/8″ strips

Insert the end of one strip into the slot of your tool, and twist, twist and twist some more until it’s fully coiled up.

Now you can leave it tightly coiled and glue the end down or you can allow it to naturally loosen and create different shapes and designs like the one I have done for one of my Easter cards.

Origami Resource Center is the best site thus far that I have found for instructions and is where I picked this cute little craft up from.
So have fun, roll some paper up, create and enjoy!

Happy crafting!
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

